Label Free Life

Living real doesn't need a label

Navigating the Salad Bar

with 6 comments

Today is Day 3 of the Whole 9 Whole30 program in the office. Everyone is doing well and it’s so exciting.  It’s still too early to really notice much in the way of changes but we’re all anticipating the goodness that we’ll be noticing along this journey.  Thankfully, no one else is quitting smoking so I’m the only grumpy one in our area. I’m still having intensely horrible cravings what feels like 24/7, but I will not give in this time! I’m just stubborn like that.  RJ Reynolds, I am no longer your bitch!

Supposedly by this time all fo the nicotine will be gone from my body. The symptoms of chemical withdrawal should have peaked (I don’t feel like that, though). My bronchial tubes are beginning to relax and breathing should be getting easier as lung function increases. But enough whining – especially since I can’t have cheese with it – let’s talk about food:

I have this thing about freezing meals – If I make a batch of something I just have to eat it till it’s gone. I don’t mind because I only fix things I like.  Anything that goes into the freezer ends up getting lost and forgotten about. Soooo…. breakfast was more ugly but yummy egg muffins.  Lunch was another leftover roast beast salad with grilled asparagus. (If you haven’t tried it, I highly recommend the pear infused vinegar – it makes a great dressing.) I also had a Pink Lady Apple this afternoon.

Dinner was a trip down the salad bar at Jason’s Deli with Chucky and his wife, Tiffany. They are a delightful couple and I just love getting to spend time with them. So much so that I forgot to take a picture of my salad.  It was very good and loaded with mixed greens, cauliflower, kalamata olives, green olives, sesame seeds, slivered almonds, egg, cucumber, artichoke hearts and sprouts.  Because I wasn’t sure of what was in any of the salad dressings I just poured basalmic vinegar and olive oil over it.

I tried to get a picture of the very long, good looking salad bar but there were too many people around and, really, it looks just like every other salad bar. It’s the company that was spectacular.

Written by Sonya

August 17, 2011 at 8:53 pm

Posted in Diet, Whole 9

Tagged with , , , , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That looks way yummy!

    jrb1864

    August 17, 2011 at 11:42 pm

    • Hella Yummy! Stop by tomorrow and I’ll let you try the pear vinegar.

      Sonya

      August 18, 2011 at 8:49 pm

  2. Every day you get between you and the stuff you’ve quit makes you stronger. Go grrl!

    stoneaging

    August 18, 2011 at 5:35 am

    • Thanks! Knowing you’ve done so well is inspiring.

      Sonya

      August 18, 2011 at 8:49 pm

  3. Amazing! Having dinner with two little 4 foot tall plastic bubble headed dolls didn’t seem to bother you one bit. You were your absolute cheerful and positive attitude self.

    Tiffany & I had a most wonderful time and you showed absolutely no clue or hint of your internal agony and strife. The immediate mental high of the Whole 9 Whole 30 diet clearly shines through. You know that you’re doing the right thing and good feelings beget good health.

    We look forward to getting together again soon. Until then… May willpower and the Whole 9 Whole 30 force remain with you my friend! 🙂

    Chucky

    August 18, 2011 at 5:55 am

    • Who knew dolls liked healthy salads as much as us taller folks do? Thanks so much for your support!

      Sonya

      August 18, 2011 at 8:50 pm


Leave a Reply

