Label Free Life

Living real doesn't need a label

This. Is. Not. Hard.

with 7 comments

I keep repeating that mantra from the Whole 9 website in my head.

It is not hard.  Don’t you dare tell us this is hard. Giving up heroin is hard. Beating cancer is hard.  Drinking your coffee black. Is. Not. Hard. You won’t get any coddling, and you won’t get any sympathy for your “struggles”.  YOU HAVE NO EXCUSE not to complete the program as written. It’s only thirty days, and it’s for the most important health cause on earth – the only physical body you will ever have in this lifetime.

And, since I’m not buying it right now, I’m also counting up how much money I’m going to save this month by not smoking or drinking my wine.  I’m imagining how nice my house and my car will smell. How delighted I’m going to be as these 30 days get me through the weight loss plateau I’ve been on.  It’s the smoking, not the nutrition aspect of this that’s really giving me a hard time right now.

Breakfast was three more of those ugly but yummy muffins.  Lunch ended up being a pleasant surprise.  My friend Dorothy brought in some smoked butt she and her husband prepared this weekend.  Those two can cook and the butt was absolutely freakishly good – so good, in fact, that Noralynn and I were accused of cheating because it smelled so good.  It tasted even better than it smelled!  Again, it doesn’t look so good but if we had Smell-O-Vision, you’d be crawling through the computer.

Being a true southern gal I’m a sucker for fried okra and it’s one of my “go to” dishes when I’m homesick. Uncle Jones BBQ is where I used to go to get my fix for that and lots of other good soul food. He’s back but out of his food truck so there’s no buffet anymore.  So, I was excited and intrigued when I found this recipe from Melissa.  I safe, Whole 9 compliant way to have my beloved okra. I’m not homesick but something comfort-ish wouldn’t hurt, right?  This was delicious!  I used the almond flour/meal I already have instead of grinding the almonds myself but it turned out wonderful.  Will definitely make this again!

So tonight was leftover beef curry and noodles from last night and Melissa’s okra. (If I can figure out how to flip the picture, I’ll edit the post.)

I didn’t get to go to the gym again tonight because of work.  That means I’ve missed my water aerobics and my water zumba classes which are the things I do at the gym because I enjoy doing them. The weight training and body weight exercises are for the health, weight loss and insulin sensitivity issues I need to fix. I’m pretty bummed but it’s okay. I’ll survive. Tonight will just be an extra long walk with the squirt to make up for it.  She’s not complaining.

Written by Sonya

August 16, 2011 at 8:49 pm

Posted in Diet, Whole 9

Tagged with , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. YAY! Glad you liked the okra. And congratulations on muscling through your Whole30. You’re gonna feel like a million bucks when your month is up!

    • Thanks so much, Melissa! It’s a keeper recipe for sure. Now I can’t wait to try your grilled okra. Thanks for your support. Once the nicotine cravings are over, I think it’ll be much smoother sailing. Thankfully, I’ve got a great support group here.

      Sonya

      August 17, 2011 at 4:14 pm

      • You are a MONSTER (in the best way possible) for taking on such tough challenges all at once. More power to you!

        I’m working on some spicy okra pickles. Hope to share the recipe in a week or so!

        • Thank you. 🙂 I’ll be watching for the spicy okra pickles!

          Sonya

          August 17, 2011 at 4:31 pm

  2. The real story is whether or not any of your co-workers have been injured so far today. LOL But, on a serious note, keep up the great work! You WILL be so happy that you’ve jumped onto the Whole 9 Segway and taken the ride down the pathway of health.

    Chucky

    August 17, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    • HA! They are giving me lots of space today. 😀 Thanks for the support! I just keep thinking of how awesome we’re all gonna feel in 30 days.

      Sonya

      August 17, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    • I’m just glad I have a sturdy set of filing cabinets in between us.

      Cave Dad

      August 18, 2011 at 10:16 am


Leave a Reply

