Label Free Life

Living real doesn't need a label

with 2 comments

Lapham’s Quarterly is a new find for me and I’m very interested in some of the articles there.  I was reading Death in the Pot by Deborah Blum which is a very interesting article on the prevalence of poisoning in the past and, more importantly, the history of food safety laws (or the lack thereof). This article lead me to an article regarding Upton Sinclair’s novel “about the Chicago meat-packing industry, The Jungle. (Sinclair had meant the book to incite reaction toward improving worker rights. He famously later complained that, “I aimed at the public’s heart, and by accident I hit it in the stomach.”)”

This article had a picture from a meat packing plant by the US National Archives Photostream on Flickr (don’t you love getting lost in links?).  I don’t see any pictures with copyrights so far. There are over 7,000 pictures and I’m certain I could waste a whole day looking at all of them, but this one in particular caught my eye. I think we should bring it back! I hope the mindset is coming back as it appears to be! Other favorites are the “Sugar, Save it” campaign poster and the “Victory Garden” poster.

I’m not planning any Victory Garden just yet but I am looking around for ideas to include in my menus during the Whole 9 challenge.  Being prepared, having necessary groceries on hand and planning time to cook meals is going to be critical to the success. 7 more days till we embark on our own n=1 experiments in figuring out which nutritional elements provide optimal health for us…I’m excited!

Written by Sonya

August 8, 2011 at 1:40 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really get more clearly what else the challenge means for you and stand behind and with you on what you want to accomplish. Less than a day to go! Most inspired here! Going to go have my last ‘Big Gulp’ from 7-11 for the next thirty days…maybe beyond! Happy day before and hopefully 30 days of discovery and accomplishment for us all!

    jrb1864

    August 14, 2011 at 12:59 pm

  2. Thanks, John. I’m so psyched for all of us! Here’s to great things happening over the next 30 days!

    Label Free

    August 14, 2011 at 4:45 pm


Leave a Reply

